Free Shipping On String Trimmers (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
Welcome | Sign In or Contact Us
Your Cart @ String Trimmers Direct Cart:
< Back to Product

Blue Max 52623 Gas Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$139.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$139.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$158.67
(as of 07:57 CST - Details)
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$159.04
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$165.24
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Blue Max 52623 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 5
Pros
Price (50)
I'd Buy It Again (27)
Exceeded Expectations (16)
Features (14)
Reliable (12)
Cons
Heavy (39)
Bad Instructions (12)
Difficult To Use (7)
Low Quality (6)
Durability (2)
83% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
110 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Dale, the String Trimmer Expert
String Trimmer Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
35 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
2044 Helpful Votes
String Trimmers Direct Recommended

The Blue Max 52623 may be economically priced, but it shares many of the same attributes you will find in "higher end" hand held brush cutters.

With the Blue Max 52623 you have the option of using this as a string trimmer, or utilizing the dual purpose guard to transform the unit into a heavy duty brush-cutter. The blade is included with this model.

The Blue Max 52623 is equipped with an ergonomically designed bicycle style handle bar that also helps to reduce vibration. ... more
Dale Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
7422
Anne G
Wellsboro, PA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/5/17
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
APR.
26
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice For The Money
The string is a pain, but I bought this trimmer to do the thicker stuff anyway. Probably never take the blade off. Cuts through big stuff. Easy to start. I have to say that it is a bit heavy. But, great value for the money.
Pros: Price, Durable, High Quality
Cons: Heavy, string is a pain to load
Anne Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Richard S.
Trophy Club, TX
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/13/17
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
09
2017
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Good Machine For The Price, But Flawed.
This is a good machine, but it is heavy, not easy to start, the string assembly flies off and the assembly instructions are skimpy..
Pros: Price
Cons: Heavy, Bad Instructions, Difficult To Use
Richard's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"Good outfit though overly optimistic in their product recommendations."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Todd G
Brimley, MI
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 7/5/17
REVIEWED
SEP.
14
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Poor Assembly Instructions. Awkward To Use.
First let me say this trimmer is a beast. It's powerful and cuts through anything I could throw at it. That said, I found it awkward to hold and operate. The bicycle style handle and shoulder strap are difficult to adjust for comfort, which forces the weight (and it is heavy) to your arms and hands. If you run this for an hour or more you're going feel it the next day.

The assembly/operation manual is awful. It's written poorly and difficult to understand, basically useless. I called... more
Pros: Price, Features, Easy To Use, Powerful
Cons: Heavy, Bad Instructions, Uncomfortable to use
Todd Recommends This Blue Max Product
Todd's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Awesome. Fast shipping."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ky N
Brimfield, MA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 7/11/17
REVIEWED
SEP.
13
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Product
Good product for the money
Pros: Price, Reliable, Easy To Use, Light Weight
Ky Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Bill L
Omaha, NE
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 8/17/17
REVIEWED
SEP.
08
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
So Far So Good
I wish there was a round blade available for this product. A full safety harness is needed, but not included. Received this product ahead of schedule.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy
Bill Recommends This Blue Max Product
Bill's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Product was received ahead of stated shipping schedule."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Steve E.
Battle Creek, MI
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 3/3/17
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2017
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Hate It!
This trimmer is extremely heavy and awkward. Handlebars are bent in an awkward configuration. Hard to hold onto and pull to start. Has power but is so awkward and heavy it's not easy to use for any length of time.
Cons: Heavy, Difficult To Use
Was this review helpful?
42
John C.
Lillington, NC
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/2/16
REVIEWED
DEC.
10
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
It's A Hoss
It's heavy and awkward but it gets the job done, much better than my echo 225r
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy
John Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
31
George S.
Jim Thorpe, PA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 9/24/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
20
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Not Sure
Trimmer seems to be worth the price. Delivered on time. Good purchase service. However, because of it's weight it should not be sold without a double strap. Should also be sold with a 40 tooth blade. The choke is reversed.
George Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
20
E Best
Perry, LA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 3/6/17
Total Reviews
4 Reviews
REVIEWED
APR.
19
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Be Ready To Work!
Better eat your Wheaties!!! This is a string trimmer on steroids.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, POWERFUL
Cons: Heavy
E Recommends This Blue Max Product
E's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Prompt service for in stock items. Lacking in keeping customer informed on backordered items."
 more
Was this review helpful?
21
Carl H.
Norman, OK
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 10/18/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Review
Only used it once so far, but will put it to work when weather cools. Very strong, even with brush cutting blade.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Features, Fast
Carl Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Andrew F.
West Des Moines, IA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 9/12/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
07
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Machine
Fired right up out of the box. Tons of power. I bought a saw blade to put on it and it works wonders on small brush and samplings. It is a bit awkward to handle.

I've tried adjusting the strap and handles but can't seem to get it to a comfortable control. I used it to clear paths in my woods and this beast decimated the shrubbery.
Pros: Price
Cons: Difficult To Use
Andrew Recommends This Blue Max Product
Andrew's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast and free shipping. Responsive. Awesome price."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
James B.
Union, ME
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 7/4/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Way Better Than I Expected!
I bought this to clear the small trees and brush that has grown around the stonewalls of my 38 acres. I had trouble starting it the first time until I found out they have the choke lever marked in reverse, now that I have it figured out, it starts very easy every time.

I put a 10 inch circular saw blade on to cut brush and small trees. I took the brush guard off which I don't recommend so I can get the stumps close to the ground as I can so i can use the sickle bar mower later on. I have... more
Pros: Price, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
James Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Mark W.
Loudon, TN
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 7/31/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Monster Brush Cutter And Great Service!!
I received my Blue Max Trimmer/Brushcutter on Aug 4, 2016. I was anxious to get started, so I assembled it to the instructions, very easy and mixed the gas/oil to the proper ratio. Primed the engine, set the Choke lever to Choke and started it up. This trimmer has to run with the choke in the ON position. Once I realized that, I started cutting brush...and did it cut brush.

Lots of power, nicely balanced and easy to control. Easily cut 2 and 3 inch brush. With any product sometimes you... more
Mark Recommends This Blue Max Product
Mark's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The proof of a good company is what they will do when something goes wrong. String Trimmers Direct was helpful. They gave me all the information I needed to get my problem resolved...GOOD JOB!!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Paul S
Weirton, WV
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 6/22/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
28
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
What A Beast
Had to do a little carb adjustment with help from the manufacture. After that this thing is great cuts thru briars and small saplings like a hot knife thru butter.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Durable, Fast
Paul Recommends This Blue Max Product
Paul's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Quick delivery"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Steve S.
Indianapolis, IN
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 7/29/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
23
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Plenty Of Power, Hard To Start When Warm
Good tool for cleaning brush. Plenty of power. Hard to start after its been ran for awhile. Good price.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Durable, Fast
Cons: Heavy, Bad Instructions
Steve Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
00
John F
China Spring, TX
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 7/27/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
19
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Brushcutter
Good brush cutter, plenty of power but is heavy. Only negative is the blade, recommend purchasing a 80 tooth blade for it.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Features, Reliable
Cons: Heavy
John Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Howard E
Crawford, WV
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 7/21/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
16
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Strong And Powerful
Plenty of power. Needs to be worked for a few days to loosen it up.
Pros: Price, Exceeded Expectations, Features, Easy To Use
Cons: Heavy
Howard Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Carla L.
Stringer, MS
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 7/11/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
11
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Powerful Brush Cutter, Used Around The Pond And In The Yard
Love it!
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable
Cons: Heavy
Carla Recommends This Blue Max Product
Carla's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Anthony T.
Searcy, AR
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 7/20/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
11
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Tough Son Of A Gun
I've only had this weedeater about 2 weeks but have absolutely put it through hell. I purchased a 68 tooth Renegade Razor brush cutting blade and have destroyed some serious brush and trees. With that blade attached I have easily mowed down a lot of new growth trees ranging in size from 1/4" to 2". So far I would highly recommend this product.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, Durable
Cons: Heavy
Anthony Recommends This Blue Max Product
Anthony's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast shipping and no problems what so ever!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
George B.
Atalissa, IA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 7/20/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
11
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
An Excellent Value
When I first got it the gear head was so stiff the spool could not spin. The company was very helpful in sending me a new gear head that worked fine. - Good customer service. -
I am very satisfied with this machine. I paid $140 for it with free shipping. An equivalent machine would be well over $200. Don't mount the handlebars in the middle of the bar. Look at the drawings. The shoulder strap could be better but that would raise the price of the unit. For the price I can use my own shoulder... more
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, Features
Cons: Heavy
George Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Alan S.
Lincoln, VT
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/21/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
08
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Godd Product At A Great Price.
Excellent value, does have one weak spot where screw goes through clamp have to be careful not to bump lever that holds clamp on.
Pros: Price, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Use, High Quality
Cons: Heavy
Alan Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Roger J.
Mukilteo, WA
REVIEWED
AUG.
04
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Blue Max Trimmer/brush Cutter
This Brush cutter out performs my old Sears brush cutter. It is also runs much quieter than old brush cutter. Only complaint is the bar that mounts the handles is twisted so the handles are not directly across from each other. This make it more difficult to control than my old brush cutter. Also I am left handed and the twisted handles cannot be shifted to accommodate this. Although this brush cutter is heavier than my old brush cutter it is also more powerful and is advertised as heavy duty.
Pros: Price, Durable, High Quality, Quiet
Cons: Heavy
Roger Recommends This Blue Max Product
Roger's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Service and delivery were excellent."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Greg C.
Waynesboro, TN
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 6/18/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
02
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product For The Price
I've only used the product a couple times so far, but I was clearing some fairly heavy brush and was very happy with the performance.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable
Cons: Heavy
Greg Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Jerry D.
Rydal, GA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 7/7/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
01
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Value
This trimmer / brush cutter is a bargain compared to others with the same features. It is very powerful and gets the job done easy . It is a little on the heavy side but unless you are lazy and weak, its no so bad that you can't deal with it. If you are looking for a powerful machine at a great price, I say give this a try. I highly recommend it and I would buy again if needed .
Pros: Price, Features, Durable, High Quality
Cons: Heavy
Jerry Recommends This Blue Max Product
Jerry's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great company to deal with. Shipping was fast and had no problems at all."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Charles T.
Richards, TX
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 7/7/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
31
2017
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Not For Heavy Brush
Design appears good but the part hold the lower shaft in place broke the first day.
Pros: Price
Cons: Bad Instructions, Low Quality, Durability
Was this review helpful?
00
David W.
Cleveland, TN
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 6/27/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
26
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Brush Cutter Extraordinaire!
I was amazed at the ability to chop thru saplings when coupled with an 8" 80T carbide tipped saw blade. The 120 degree triangular configured brush blade that came with unit sliced thru tough ragweed stalks and finger sized saplings with ease. Couple its cutting ability with am amazingly easy starting, powerful machine you can't go wrong.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Use
Cons: Heavy, Shoulder Strap
David Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Rodger O.
South Lyon, MI
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 6/19/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
24
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Price, Not The Best Quality Blue Max Helped Fix It Quick
It went together quickly and started right up. It tore through some moderate brush quite nicely for about 10 minutes, when the coupling between the upper and lower shafts completely sheared and it no longer worked. Blue Max (actually "NATI") sent me a replacement part with minimal fuss in a few days and it's been working well since. It's such a good price that I expected something to go wrong, and it did, but I do think it's a great value, especially with the big engine. Hopefully... more
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use
Cons: Heavy, Low Quality
Rodger Recommends This Blue Max Product
Rodger's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"String Trimmers Direct helped me get the replacement part and they were quite good throughout the whole process."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ron F.
Cecil, WI
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 6/4/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
18
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Buy
Takes time to get used to but will do as advertised.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, Lots of power for the price
Cons: Have to adjust to handle bar grip
Ron Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Thomas A.
Litchfield, CT
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 6/25/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
18
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Helpful Witch 2 Acres
Very strong city brush. Very comfortable with handles and shoulder strap.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable, Fast
Thomas Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Steve T,
Davenport, FL
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 7/9/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
14
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It
Just got mine in this week and finally got to test it out today. It cuts thru everything like butter. I live in Florida and we got lots of palms always popping up everywhere, had a rough time cutting them down with a machete, but this thing slice thru them with ease. Love it.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Features, Easy To Use
Cons: Heavy, Bad Instructions
Steve Recommends This Blue Max Product
Steve's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Arrived fast and packaging was excellent."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Dennis H.
Attica, MI
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 6/7/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
30
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Quality - A Little Hard To Handle
This trimmer works great-however, it's a little heavy on your neck (with shoulder strap).
Pros: Price, Features, Fast, High Quality
Cons: Heavy, Difficult To Use
Dennis Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Donald S.
Conover, WI
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 6/5/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Not As Good As I Expected
I find it very difficult to start. I followed the instructions to start it but it would not start. I pumped the bulb. When I looked at the bulb it did not fill up completely, so I pumped it up more and it still would not start. I thought I flooded it so I went to unplug the spark plug wire to remove the spark plug and the wire that connects to the plug ripped of the wire and remained on the plug. When I got the plug out, it was totally dry. I fixed it and reinstalled the wire. and had to pump... more
Pros: Price, Fast
Cons: Difficult To Use, Ignition problems.
Was this review helpful?
00
John K.
Buffalo, WY
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/21/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
27
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Totally Happy With This One!!
Best trimmer I have ever owned and I have owned several. I just replaced a new Cub Cadet which I used maybe 4 times before throwing it in the dump. What a joke the Cub Cadet was. And unfortunately the joke was on me. This Blue Max is a world above that one. It is extremely powerful and almost a pleasure to use. None of these things are a pleasure to use, but this one is almost there. Excellent quality and not a bad price either. If you are looking at getting a string trimmer this one is... more
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Cons: Can't think of any cons at this time
John Recommends This Blue Max Product
John's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Excellent company to do business with. They are there to help if you need it."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Paul F.
Parsons, WV
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/28/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Blue Max Trimmer
Seems to work ok, only used it once. Likes to stall on no choke, I would guess it needs a carb adjustment, kinda discouraging considering it did this right out of the box. The adjustment screws are special however and will require special tool. Wondering if running it on half choke will damage the machine.
Pros: Price
Cons: Heavy, stalls on no choke
Paul Recommends This Blue Max Product
Dale, the String Trimmer Expert
Product Expert
Paul,
For technical support, Blue Max can be reached directly @ 800-348-5004
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Matt R
Riviera, TX
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/3/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
07
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine!
Be aware the directions seemed to be written by someone whose first language is not English. But when I slowly read the directions and followed them closely, everything worked great. Although a little heavy the machine operated wonderfully. I had approximately 1 acre to clear of underbrush for fire remediation. This machine ate through the thick heavy brush like it was thin grass. It continues to start on first or second pull and runs smoothly and is very powerful.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Heavy, Bad Instructions
Matt Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Clark H
Franklin, VT
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/30/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
03
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Blue Max - Thumbs Up
Well made, directions are OK overall excellent machine, has good power
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Features, Easy To Use
Cons: Heavy, Bad Instructions
Clark Recommends This Blue Max Product
Clark's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Question asked and wrong answer given could have been a communication issue, I haven't had to use the service yet so I cannot give them a great on that yet."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark R
Corning, NY
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/14/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
29
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Blue Max Man Made Monster
This trimmer is a monster. Has its down falls, but have not found anything it wont cut through. It's heavy, hard to start and will not trade it for any other.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, Durable, Fast
Cons: Heavy
Mark Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Randy H
Prattville, AL
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/21/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
27
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Strong
Strong engine heavy duty but shoulder strap is too small and string head is hard to refill but overall good value.
Pros: Price, Exceeded Expectations, Durable
Cons: Heavy, Not well balanced
Randy Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Melissa P
Fayetteville, TN
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/5/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
27
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Weed Eater
Runs good, starts easy, very affordable and really like the bicycle handles. My only complaint is the weight. It is quite heavy.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable
Cons: Heavy
Melissa Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert C
San Antonio, TX
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 3/5/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
25
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Blue Max 42cc Trimmer/brushcutter
Very powerful. Suggest provide a harness instead of a shoulder strap
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Features, Easy To Use
Cons: Heavy
Robert Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Gary R
Meadview, AZ
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/1/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
23
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Price - Powerful - A Bit Cumbersome, But Well Worth It
As a whole it's a great deal. Plenty of power and runs good. I had no problem at all cutting down very heavy brush with stems up to 3/4 inch diameter. For the money I honestly don't think you can beat it, but it could also use a few upgrades. The bicycle handles are cumbersome, and the strap is a bit lightweight for the heft of the unit. All in all it is exactly what I needed for clearing heavy brush off my 1-1/2 acres. If all you have to clear is light brush and weeds I think this unit is a... more
Pros: Price
Cons: Heavy
Gary Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Vincent M
Middleburg, PA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/16/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
08
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Product
Good for the price. Uncomfortable to use the required strap, unit is uncomfortable to use. Carburetor needed adjustment.
Pros: Price, Features
Cons: Heavy, Difficult To Use
Vincent Recommends This Blue Max Product
Vincent's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Power Equipment Direct shipped fast and unit arrived in perfect condition."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Arthur D.
Heathsville, VA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 3/27/17
REVIEWED
APR.
19
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Blue Max
Works great, but if you're tall then shaft might be too short
Pros: Price, Reliable
Arthur Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
00
David S.
Dawsonville, GA
REVIEWED
OCT.
02
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Already Needs Carburetor Adjustment !
Con: Used this Brush cutter once and now it's not revving up past 2500 RPM. I hope it's just a carburetor adjustment issue but it has the pressed on cap over the adjustment screw that will need to be removed.

Con:The on/off switch couldn't be in a worse position. Constantly bumping it to the off position.

Con: A little Heavy and somewhat difficult to balance. ( I am 215lbs and work out 5 days a week ).
Maybe I need to adjust the handlebars back.

Con: trimmer head is useless. Doesn't... more
Was this review helpful?
44
Benny H.
Clarksburg, WV
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 6/5/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Products
Clamp between shafts broke. Very Powerful, runs strong, not for small jobs, but all in all nice
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, Fast
Cons: Heavy, Clamp between shaft cheap
Benny Recommends This Blue Max Product
Benny's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Heavy strong motor."
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
Joseph M.
Lake Ariel, PA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/5/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
16
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Some Cons, Some Pluses
Poor instructions on setup. Hard starting. Shoulder strap much too flimsy. Difficult to adjust balance . Inadequate strap. Starting requires too many pulls. Works well on brambles with the blade. Have not used the string trimmer as of this date.
Pros: Price
Cons: Heavy, Bad Instructions, Difficult to adjust balance
Joseph Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Tim
REVIEWED
FEB.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cedar Tree Cutting Tool
We bought 80 acres and have our share of Cedar trees populating the land. I decided to try the BlueMax because of the 42.6cc motor and the price. I also bought two 10 inch bush blades.

Well the first problem I noticed was the factory glued the handle on the wrong side of the bars so the only way I can use it is with the motor hanging from my left side. Instead of sending it back, I elected to just use it that way. Second issue is if you plan on using for extended period of time you need to... more
Tim Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
184
Curt Hebert
Oregon City, OR
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 8/25/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
21
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Value For Blue Max Trimmer
Bought some property by a river and needed to get the tall brush cleaned up. Bought this trimmer at a great price hoping it would last for the job at least. So far after 2 grueling days, I have to say that I am pleasantly surprised at how rugged it is and how it didn't bog down.

I have had a few issues with line breaking inside so it wouldn't come out automatically, but other than that a great workhorse. I will be trying the blade this coming weekend and now expecting no problems. Oh yeah,... more
Pros: Features, Price, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable
Cons: Heavy
Curt Recommends This Blue Max Product
Curt's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Emailed when they said they would. Easy sale and fast ship."
 more
Was this review helpful?
196
Charles
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 9/7/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Made In China, So....
Right off the bat, this trimmer works. It will trim grass and weeds.

There is a reason it is so inexpensively priced, though - it's uncomfortable (rather heavier than competitors), difficult to maneuver, and it will vibrate your teeth out of the sockets at full throttle. Fortunately, most homeowner trimming tasks can be accomplished at far less than full throttle.

It appears I'll need to adjust the carburetor mixture as well, as the unit would only run continuously first time out with the... more
Was this review helpful?
186
Edward D.
Eustis, FL
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 9/10/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
24
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works Well After Leaking Fuel Tank Replacement
For the money, this machine does exactly what it's supposed to. I haven't used the weed-eater attachment. Just the brush cutting disk.

Had a problem when I first received the unit, as gas tank leaked, but they sent a replacement and all is well. Fairly easy to change, given that they supply all the tools with the original unit. Brush cutting guard a bit flimsy. It's already chipped and I don't suppose it will last much longer.

Don't expect the product refinement you get on a Stihl. ... more
Edward Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
165
Robin M.
Riner, VA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 12/16/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Serious Trimmer
I was looking to upgrade when my curved shaft trimmer was retired. Reviews on the Blue Max were mostly positive and complaints were weight related.

I found the machine surprisingly easy to start and with robust power. I'll replace the shoulder strap with a cushier one but otherwise it feels comfortable w/ OK balance.

This is a serious trimmer. I believe it'll go the long run with proper care / maintenance (something frequently missing w/ trimmers.). And it starts great!
Robin Recommends This Blue Max Product
Robin's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy. So easy. That it had an excellent price didn't hurt a bit."
 more
Was this review helpful?
155
Mark W.
Loudon, TN
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 7/31/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Monster
This weed/brush trimmer is one powerful tool. It easily chopped down 2- to 3-inch diameter brush in no time. Smaller brush, it sliced through like butter. I got the chainsaw blade with it. Together, they are a unbeatable value.
Mark Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
93
Brett Z.
Wellsboro, PA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/24/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best For The Money
I would put this trimmer against any big name brand. I have used most of them and this does the job just as good. Starts on 2 or 3 pulls and runs great. I wasn't sure after reading the bad reviews but I decided if I get one season out of it, it's worth the price. In my opinion the bad reviews are from operator error.

So far I have no problems. It has a huge motor so I only use about 1/2 to 3/4 throttle and combined with the 1.5 quart tank it doesn't need filled often. It's heavy but it's a... more
Pros: Price, Reliable, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy
Brett Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
93
Tony B.
Odenville, AL
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/14/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
06
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Worst Purchase Ever!!!!!!
Trimmer worked great for 3 times. THREE TIMES now it want crank. Who knows what is wrong with it but my grass is still growing
Dale, the String Trimmer Expert
Product Expert
Tony,
There are only a few possible causes that I am aware of which could be the cause of the engine not starting. This could be due to a fouled spark plug, too much gas or oil in the mixture, a dirty air filter, or there is an improper carburetor adjustment (this can be determined as mentioned in the Owners Manual).

If these are not the possible causes, unfortunately this unit will need to go to a Blue Max service center. Please contact Blue Max directly at 800-348-5004 as they will be able to troubleshoot and assist further.
more
Was this review helpful?
93
James R.
Granbury, TX
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 7/21/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
04
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Not For Me
I researched several different items on this site. I was lead to the BLUEMAX and made a purchase. I am completely disappointed in this bulky, heavy difficult to operate line trimmer. I would have returned it but understand returns that have had gas and oil in them are not allowed. I detest this product and would never recommend this beast to anyone.
Dale, the String Trimmer Expert
Product Expert
James,
I am sorry to hear the Blue Max string trimmer did not meet the standards or perform in the methods to which you were hoping. I have also forwarded your review to the manufacturer so they are able to look into this model's ability to operate in an easier manner. I appreciate you taking the time to write an honest review.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
James,
I am sorry to hear you had a negative experience with one of our products. The Blue Max Trimmer was designed for ease of use. The Blue Max Trimmer weighs 19 lbs, which is very similar to other trimmers in our category. To alleviate the stress of that weight we include a nylon shoulder strap. If worn correctly the weight of the trimmer should rest comfortably on your shoulders freeing your hands to maneuver the trimmer easily. See image. Also please note that in order to operate the trimmer effectively the user needs to stand on the left side of the shaft. This puts the ergonomic handle and trigger at the right distance to move the trimmer around freely. The handle adjusts to best suit the users height by adjusting it further up or down on the shaft along with the angel of the trigger handle to the shaft. Please see if this additional information helps you to better handle the the 42.6cc trimmer a little more comfortably. If you have any further issues or need assistance please feel free to contact us directly at 800.348.5004.
more
Was this review helpful?
71
Raymond D.
Cadiz, OH
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 3/26/16
REVIEWED
APR.
23
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Blue Max Model 52623
Everything arrived as described except that the handle bars were shaped in an odd configuration. Had to replace bars. Motor has plenty of power and starts easy.
Raymond Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
61
Leonard L.
Davison, MI
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/10/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
07
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Blue Max Trimmer
I recently purchased the Blue Max from String Trimmers Direct. It was shipped super fast and arrived with everything intact. I did researched the product before buying it and knew it was well built, heavy but also a great value. I did a lot of cutting of saplings some 3 inches in diameter and it worked flawlessly. The two concerns I ran into were the strap which I knew by the reviews is not comfortable enough for long time use and the handle bars. The strap is an easy fix. I have a new one... more
Leonard Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
105
Jerry H.
Crandall, TX
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 3/8/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
29
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Not A Happy Camper
right out of the box the recoil assembly busted...got a replacement part from the dealer in a week...it binds up also cant seem to get a replacement or my money back...sad something brand new breaks down right out of the box...have problems with the chain saw too....wish I would have spent the extra money and got top name brand..tried to save a few bucks and it has caused me much stress!!!
Dale, the String Trimmer Expert
Product Expert
Jerry,
Please contact Blue Max at (800) 348-5004 x6691 and they will be able to remedy this issue.
more
Was this review helpful?
128
Donald W.
Jamestowm, TN
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 7/1/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Trimmer/ Brushcutter
i would give it 1 to 5 star i will give haft to give it a 10 star it got all the power you need to cut heavy grass or brush it is one of the best trimmers i have owned it works great
Donald Recommends This Blue Max Product
Donald's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"i got a lot of heavy grass around where i live and a lot of brush and blue max went throw it with easy"
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Greg S.
Virginia Beach, VA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/10/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
09
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
First Impressions
I bought this to assist in taking care of my rural property and have only used it for about 5 or 6 hours so far. I have mainly used it to cut down weeds that were about 2 to 3 foot tall and to clear a small area for a micro food plot in the woods.

It eventually cut down all of the weeds I tried but I did spend some time clearing some of the stringier ones that got wrapped around the head. I did try using the blade for a bit but there are a lot of rocks hidden in the weeds here so I mainly... more
Greg Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Jeffrey W.
Geneva, FL
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 3/29/16
REVIEWED
APR.
19
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works Pretty Well.
I put the trimmer together in about 15 minutes, mixed up some fuel in the supplied container and after a pull or two she started right up. I put the strap over my shoulder and started to trim some grass. When I gave it some gas she would bog right down. It would run great on partial choke. This trimmer has gobs of power and I can't wait to do some brush clearing under my trees.

I have been doing some research on the net and it appears that the carb has a high speed plug that needs to... more
Pros: Price, Durable, Features, Lots Of Power
Cons: Heavy, Bad Instructions, Carby Needs Adjusting
Jeffrey Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
41
Roy O.
Houston, TX
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 3/27/16
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
A Few Problems
Shipping arrived quick, fired up right out of the box. Handlbars could use a better design, I bent and altered the ones that came with the trimmer to fit my grip and stance. The engine bogs when throttled wide open, and I see no gas/air mixture screws on the carb to adjust for this.

The line spool is very stiff and the line does not feed properly. The line breaks off inside the holes in the spool, and I have to take it apart to feed the line through again. If you buy one of these, you're... more
Pros: Price, Easy To Use
Cons: Throttle And Line Feeding Problems
Roy Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
41
Dennis R.
Farmville, NC
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 8/7/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Heavy Duty
I wanted a trimmer that would be around more than a few months. That would change out to cut brush and do all I wanted it to do.
This trimmer will hold you to the fire and I think will be in it for the long haul.
Dennis Recommends This Blue Max Product
Dennis's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Great"
 more
Was this review helpful?
31
Eusebio C.
San Antonio, TX
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 3/29/16
REVIEWED
APR.
21
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Plenty Of Power.
Recently bought three of these units. All of the units ran well out of the box. Two of the units started having problems with the carburetor once they warmed up they started to bog down. Would not run at full throttle. Replaced carburetor with red max carburetors on those two and made a world of difference. Have all three up and running. Very powerful get the job done equipment.Plastic guard around fuel tank very cheap not good quality. Over all very powerful lets see how long they can go.
Pros: Price, Features, Reliable
Cons: Low Quality
Eusebio's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Bought one unit after about a month had problems with carburetor. Replaced carburetor with red max carburetor. Unit running in perfect condition. Bought two more at very cheap price $129.00 each. Already had to replace another carburetor.Good value for the price compared to other brands. These machines can run. They keep up to my Tanaka TBC 650."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Greg D.
Topeka, KS
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 2/15/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
08
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Blue Max Trimmer
I think service was great. Trimmer starts good until it's hot, then it won't start ........
Greg Recommends This Blue Max Product
Greg's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"I Think it was All GREAT. JUST Disappointed Damn Thing WON'T START WHEN WARM !!!!!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
31
Charles H.
Sarasota, FL
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 8/12/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Husqvarna
My new Husqvarna lawn mower is great. It provides a smooth cut and handles well. I'm glad I made the choice in my selection of this style. Thank you.
Charles Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Gary D.
Mesa, AZ
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 8/10/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Outstanding Weedeater
This an outstanding Weedeater, runs great very powerful, changed the stock trim line head, it's perfect. The instruction manual for assembly is horrible, especially the one for the BlueMax chainsaw. The Weedeater not difficult to assemble anyway. This is a great price too.
Gary Recommends This Blue Max Product
Gary's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Will make future purchases"
 more
Was this review helpful?
86
Anthony P.
Pocahontas, AR
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 7/31/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
26
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Does The Job
It works great, but I do have a few issues with it.

1. The manual pull starter is very hard to crank when you pull the cord.

2. The trigger on the hand grip is not very precise, you have to push the trigger in about half way before the thing starts turning the trimmer head that cuts the grass. However for the price I paid for the trimmer these things are to be expected I guess. This is my very first trimmer but its not the first one or the first of this type I have used. I give it 8/10
Was this review helpful?
20
Harry H.
Round Top, TX
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 6/22/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
One Tough Machine
The Blue Max performs just fine. Starts easily, runs well, and handles heavy cutting.

Had read reviews about the strap and researched several alternative accessory strap/harnesses before my Blue Max arrived. Am now used to the one that came with the unit and don't even think about it.

Best features: The engine's power, and the straight angle drive.
Harry Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
53
John N.
Kinston, AL
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 7/4/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Tall Reeds
I'm 72 and moved to the country. My yard has gotten way ahead of me, 4' reeds and brush growing up around my house sit right on the bank of a large pond, snakes and alligators, and a beaver have made their homes under my house. Must keep vegetation down.

Used the Blue Maz about ten minutes so far in the heat and have chopped down about 12' of clearing. Most happy about how easy it is to start, my new Poulan chainsaw I cannot even use because it wears me out starting it.Blue Max starts on... more
John Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Dale O.
Syracuse, NY
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/14/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine!
Just received my trimmer. Best I have ever owned! The strap saves my back, it's easy to start, and overall a solid machine. I would recommend for everyone!
Dale Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
53
Robert E.
Central Point, OR
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/1/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Value
Works good. Starts easy.
Robert Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
42
Carlos T.
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 8/8/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
20
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not Happy
I have two other weed eaters and they both start with no problem. I have only been able to start this one time with that being said I would not buy this unless you want a arm workout!!!
Dale, the String Trimmer Expert
Product Expert
Carlos,
I apologize for the difficulty you are experiencing in starting your Blue Max string trimmer. Have you contacted Blue Max tech support regarding possible tips to troubleshoot the trimmer? I have not heard of this issue in the past and once again do apologize for this inconvenience. If you need any further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you and have a great day.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Mark S.
Bryan, TX
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 7/28/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Reliable Piece Of Equipment
After going through two 4 cycle trimmers and several lower quality 2 cycle trimmers, I opted to try the Blue Max trimmer/brush cutter. It starts easily, keeps running even when you have to put it down for a moment and has been a reliable piece of equipment.

I have ten acres that I maintain and it stands up to the job around the fence posts, trees, t-posts and buildings. It took a while to get the balance just right since I am new to the "handle bar" type of controls.

Great... more
Mark Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Ivars L.
Burlington, KY
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/28/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
22
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Good Power, Primitive Trimmer Head Sucks!
Trimmer head likes way too much attention. Spend more time prying (PRYING, with tools) the head open (surely this can be improved), hunting for the loose spring in the grass(geez, how hard is it to have a captive one there)keeping .095 line from unravelling while being wound, repeatedly jamming up in the spool and refusing to feed....need more?
Dale, the String Trimmer Expert
Product Expert
Ivars,
I sincerely apologize for the issues you have experienced with your Blue Max string trimmer head. I have not heard of this issue previously. I have forwarded your review to the manufacturer as well so they are aware of the issue with your string trimmer. I would recommend reaching out to Blue Max directly at 800-348-5004 as they may be able to troubleshoot or send you a replacement trimmer head.

Once again I apologize for these issues and appreciate your time in writing this review. Have a great day.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Daniel W.
Collins, MS
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 6/3/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Commercial Cutter
I bought 2 new Blue Max cutters to be utilized by an Interstate Right-of-way maintenance crew. These two Blue Max trimmers have been run very hard since the first day we deployed them. They have been operating 10-12 hours per day, six days per week for the last 3 weeks. And my company has had zero complaints or problems with either cutter. People who complain on other reviews are amateur operators that are not properly trained to operate and maintain such a machine.

The two cutters... more
Daniel Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Scott E.
Depew, NY
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/29/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
22
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Wow A Great Product For Business/commercial Not Small Home Use?
Hi this trimmer is a great product works real well and it starts right up, i used it & it works very well kind of b ig thou and Blue Max needs to make some modifications as it is to big & bulky to carry around A Home application as i sold this product. i'll give this product a 3-4 star for how well it works & thanks
Pros: Price, Reliable, Quiet, High Quality
Cons: Heavy, Difficult To Use
Scott's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"does work good but very big & bulky to use so it needs some modifications to make this product light weight & durable."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Christopher B.
Delavan, WI
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/21/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Blue Max Trimmer
This thing is awesome. It did take some tweaking on the handlebars as they seemed to be bent backwards creating a long reach to the controller. But some rebending corrected that. Assembled, fueled, and it fired right up on the second pull. Runs and operates great.
Christopher Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Richard W.
Sweet, ID
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/11/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Five Hours Later!
I put the Blue Max trimmer to gather started it up and ran it hard for 5 straight hours in tall grass. It ran great plenty of power the only thing that they should change is.

The line head on all but city weed whackers is a joke! Put a 3 or 4 line cutting head on these big machines! The ones that you cut the line to length put them in your pocket and change as needed! Other than that so far a great buy.
Richard Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Vance P.
Pahrump, NV
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/15/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
08
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Powerful
The Max arrived quickly. Assembly was relatively easy and quick. Started on the first pull. Carb will require a little work, but the machine runs extremely strong with string or the blade! I am glad I made this purchase.
Vance Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Gordon J.
Kissimmee, FL
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 1/26/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Powerful Tool
Best brushcutter I have ever used. A double shoulder harness makes the machine much easier to use nut is not essential.
Gordon Recommends This Blue Max Product
Gordon's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"Best value and performance."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Ron S.
Cosmopolis, WA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 11/26/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Blue Max
Great machine for small brush and heavy grass, the 42 CC has more than enough power for all your brush cutting needs. I really like mine, it's a great value compared to other brush cutters of this size.
Ron Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Ron R.
Morgan City, AL
REVIEWED
JAN.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
I got this on sale for 119 dallors. WOW good machine,but this is not for grass its too big,I got a double shoulder strap off of a golf bag at a thrift store for a buck and made a holder for this beast. I live in alabama THICK brush,this thing goes through it like butter. Starts first time every time, great on gas,but when cutting brush use a full face protection and thick pants, as this monster throws chips at very high speeds. also tighten up skrews after each use, it does vibrat them loose,... more
Ron Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Dean T.
Kirkland, WA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 10/5/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product Commercial Grade
Powerful motor, cuts through blackberry sticker bushes with the cutting blade on with no problem.
Fast shipping.
Dean Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
32
Trina S.
Crawford, TN
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 9/4/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product!
Very nice (professional) quality. This will not back down on cutting small trees and briars (devils walking sticks). It knocks down anything in its path. Loving it so far. Will be buying a better strap - too little and weak that comes with it.

Would like to find a backpack-like strap for support, it is heavier than the ones you can buy in the stores. Handlebars are great for control. (I'm 5'1" and female) Highly recommend!
Trina Recommends This Blue Max Product
Trina's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great website, service and quick shipping, arrived in great condition, worked out of the box, easy to put together!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
65
Rick C.
Moyie Springs, ID
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 7/13/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Serious Piece Of Equiptment
This trimmer is heavy duty and powerful enough for some of the toughest jobs that I have attempted to take on with a trimmer and it put a smile on my face. Wish I had bought one of this caliber, long long ago, would highly recommend this for all, Bigger is better!!
Rick Recommends This Blue Max Product
Rick's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The shipping was extremely fast."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Franfrebe1k B.
Slidell, LA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/30/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
09
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
A Little Unhappy
For the motor size, mine seems under-powered, somewhat sluggish, and slow to respond to the throttle.

Hope that things will get better with use!
Franfrebe1k Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
10
James
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/23/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Value, Nice Design, Hard Worker.
I bought the BlueMax brush/weed cutter to cut a bunch of thorn bushes on my property. These things multiply like rabbits and have 2 inch long thorns on them. The BlueMax looked like a good value based upon what was included and the price/performance info. The three-tine "brush" blade that came with it is pretty useless for anything except tall grass, but the weed whip thing works nice.

I bought some carbide tipped brush blades for it and this thing really can slice through... more
James Recommends This Blue Max Product
James's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I gave the website 4 stars simply because I never accessed your website, but bought this from your Ebay listing. But otherwise I was very impressed with your company and the BlueMax brush cutter I bought. Thank you very much!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
43
Penny J.
Perryville, AR
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/18/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
09
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Very Disappointed
Bought this as a fathers day gift for my son in law. He was so happy to finally have a good weeder. Would have been a great gift had it started after it was put together. Not only would it not start, but seller would not take it back or send a replacement. I may as well have given the money away to the poor. I've had it for 3 weeks now and it still won't start! VERY POOR QUALITY. NOT COMMERCIAL DUTY AS DESCRIBED!
Pros: Easy To Store, I Would Not Buy Again
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Expensive, Ot As Described
Dale, the String Trimmer Expert
Product Expert
Penny,
I apologize for the dissatisfaction you have with the Blue Max string trimmer you purchased. Unfortunately, per our return policy we are unable to return the item once it has been gassed and oiled. If you have not contacted a local service center to look at the unit for warranty service, I would recommend contacting Blue Max (800-348-5004 x6691) to locate a center nearest you. If the unit is defective or there is a part issue this would be remedied through the warranty and Blue Max directly.

Once again I apologize for your dissatisfaction but appreciate your honest review.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Penny,
Yes, Please give us a call or send us an email at feedback@natitools.com and we will be glad to assist you. feedback@natitools.com or eric@natitools.com
more
Penny's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"No returns on gas powered equipment. Was told to contact the manufacturer for technical assistance. Its not very technical to start a brand new piece of equipment! Very bad investment. Don't throw your money away!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
32
Robert L.
Stopover, KY
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/14/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Machine
Used the machine for the first time today after making some adjustments to the handle bar and some other things to suit myself. Machine ran perfect although I am not a fan of the head. It was hard to restring. A head that could be restrung without taking it off would work better. Overall, satisfied with it.
Robert Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Kevin
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/26/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
15
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
A Good Product For The Price
First off, the experience with MowersDirect/StringTrimmersDirect has been exceptional. I purchased this brush cutter on a Tuesday and it delivered on a Saturday. After doing a fair amount of research, I decided to purchase this item based on other positive reviews and the low price compared to other brands. I had never heard of this brand, but for what I needed it for I did not want to pay double the price for a more name brand product. This brushcutter starts easily, isnít hard to use, and... more
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Light Weight
Cons: Durability
Kevin Recommends This Blue Max Product
Kevin's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Website is easy to use and item was delivered very quickly."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Charles P.
Maryville, TN
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 6/14/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good
I needed a brush cutter with much more power than the 25cc name brand cutter I already had, but couldn't afford the $800 for a much bigger one. The Blue Max had the best reviews for budget brush cutters, and it seems that spare parts are available so I decided to buy. I'm using a special brush chopping blade on it that is bend down at the edges so it cuts both vertically and horizontally, unlike most other brush blades. You can chop up vines and brush with an up and down motion instead of side... more
Charles Recommends This Blue Max Product
Charles's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Good experience so far. I'll be using this machine hard for the rest of the year. I can't afford Husky, Stihl, Echo, etc. for this, so if this machine breaks, I'll fix it and keep using it."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
John N.
Valatie, NY
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 6/13/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Brushcutter.
I only use it as a brushcutter with the blade. It work well in clearing brush around our pond. A very strong machine. It took a while to get the handlebars in the correct position to operate it well. It would be good to have a mark on the handlebar to show where it attaches to the bracket.

I had to attach and reattach several times. Finally, I got it in the right position. Also, the bottom part turns out of position at times even tough I have the lever in the slot and the yellow knob... more
John Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Claude M.
Ava, MO
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 6/12/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Powerful
Unit has performed as advertised for two days of cutting brush.
Claude Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Tommy D.
Sagle, ID
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 6/9/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Machine !!!!
This thing rocks! Much more power than Stihl. Easier to start, and quieter too. Absolutely amazing to buy at half of the price of anything even close to this performance level.
Tommy Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Timmie R.
Plymouth, NC
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/7/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
31
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pro & Con
The cons needs a better shoulder strap, and at first the throttle wanted to stick when i wanted speed up couldn't. I adjusted the idle screw in a tiny bit & bingo.

Pro's would recommend lots of power, with a 10-inch carbide tip blade it will easily cut small trees, hedges no problem.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Fast, Easy To Store
Cons: Heavy, Bad Instructions, Low Quality
Timmie Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Phiengmany V.
Memphis, TN
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/1/16
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Powerful Trimmer
I love this trimmer, It is powerful 1 pull to start only one thing i do not like is the weight, it is little bit heavy.
Phiengmany Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Kevin S.
West Blocton, AL
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 3/31/16
REVIEWED
APR.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Good Trimmer/brush Cutter.
I bought a chainsaw tooth blade for this trimmer and it powered through 5 inch brush that was hard to get to with a chainsaw. Very pleased with this purchase.
Kevin Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Timothy L.
Arcadia, WI
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 3/29/16
REVIEWED
APR.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Work Horse
I ran it through my 20 acres using the brush cutter. Darn thing is a work horse. Cut down everything in its path. I purchased the extra chainsaw cutting blade and but through dozens of invasive honeysuckle - some were 3" in diameter. Cut 'em down like a hot knife through butter. I'll put it through the ringer all summer long. It looks like it was made for the long haul.
Timothy Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Ronald H.
Fergus Falls, MN
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 3/20/16
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Piece Of Junk
Went to assemble and instructions are poor. Finally assembled, gassed up and started. Worked great for about 2 minutes. Then throttle stuck at high speed. Turned off. Restated several times and same story...always wide open---unable to control the speed. Recoil starter rope/started stuck. Multi problems...what a oversold piece of junk. Have had other brands in the past and never had any
problems - except for blades wearing out. DO NOT RECOMMEND.
Dale, the String Trimmer Expert
Product Expert
Ronald,
I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with this unit. These issues are not a common occurrence with the Blue Max products. Have you reached out to Blue Max directly for assistance in getting the recoil starter repaired?
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Brenden
REVIEWED
APR.
09
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Cuts Great
I bought this for double duty of cutting through a large amount of thick brush and to double as a trimmer. Cuts great! I don't really know what they mean by anti vibration handles because it's just a medal handle bar with plastic grips bolted to the shaft, but it's by no means unbearable. Only problems with it is that the shoulder strap sucks, same material as a strap off a 5 dollar gym bag, and it won't run with the choke off no matter how long I let it warm up. But it still cuts well.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy, Bad Instructions
Brenden Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Matt T.
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 3/27/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
29
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Good For 60 Seconds
Put the trimmer together without any issues. Read the manual about starting just in case. Engine started just as it should. After about 30 seconds I got the strap ready and in place.

As soon as I was ready to put my hand on the trotted it quit.ok, so I pulled the cord again and nothing. It wouldn't start for anything.

Pulled the spark plug wire and found no spark. Even held my hand on top to see if I'd get shocked, nothing. So, starting a new adventure in customer service tomorrow since... more
Cons: Low Quality, Heavy, Bad Instructions
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Matt,
I apologize for the problem you've had keeping the trimmer running. Our customer support team will be happy to assist you in identifying the problem with your trimmer so you can get back to using it or we will be happy to assist you with a replacement. Please call us at 800.348.5004 or email us at feedback@natitools.com.
more
Was this review helpful?
11
Hugh B.
Powhatan, VA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 2/22/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
16
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Extreme Vibration
Unit seems to cut well but the vibration is almost unbearable. The vibration makes using the product for very limited periods of time(minutes at a time).
Dale, the String Trimmer Expert
Product Expert
Hugh,
I apologize for your dissatisfaction with the vibration intensity while in use. Is this occurring when you use the trimmer with the detachable harness which is designed to assist with operator fatigue when using for long periods?

This attachment should assist and alleviate some of these issues. Once again I do apologize and appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Thank you.
more
Was this review helpful?
55
Vince B.
Phila, PA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/21/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
13
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Bad Vibration
Cannot run machine with steel blade attachment due to serious vibration.
Dale, the String Trimmer Expert
Product Expert
Vince,
I am sorry to hear of the troubles you are experiencing with the Blue Max unit and brush cutting blade. This is not an issue we have heard of previously. I have forwarded your review to Blue Max for their accounts. I appreciate you taking the time to write this honest review.
more
Was this review helpful?
01
Sean O.
Coxsackie, NY
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 3/22/16
REVIEWED
APR.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Power
Trimmer used once so far to do major brush removal and it worked great with blade on. Lots of power and seems like it is built to last.
Sean Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Charles E.
Monroeville, AL
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 3/21/16
REVIEWED
APR.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Keep The Weeds Down
This product does a good job on weeds and tall grass.The shaft could be a little longer for tall people.I used a longer strap from a older trimmer I had.This kept the load off my arms.
Charles Recommends This Blue Max Product
Charles's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"P E D did everything they said they would. No complaints"
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
Kerry A.
Cullman, AL
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 3/9/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Lots Of Power
good value for the price
Kerry Recommends This Blue Max Product
Kerry's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"good"
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
William Mumper
Marseilles, IL
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/4/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Brushcutter
I was pleasantly surprised at the speed at which my order arrived. It was within he stated time and arrived in perfect condition. So we are off to a good start. Now will it start and run. Again much to my surprise the engine started within 3 pulls. This is unheard of for a new dry 2 cycle engine. To say the least, I was impressed. Now will this trend continue. A week later I wanted to restart the Blue Max. I thought, here is where I will have problems. Boy was I surprised. The engine started... more
William Recommends This Blue Max Product
William's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"You guys are great. This is the second brush cutter I have purchased from you. The first was a POS and I was concerned as to the quality of your product. But you came through on this order. I will be using you again in the future"
 more
Was this review helpful?
13
William M.
Topeka, KS
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/4/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
03
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Bmac
Unit starts and runs OK. Not built for tall people. Shaft needs to be longer or the angle of the geared head changed so the cutting unit is parallel to the ground for tall people.
William Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
03
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials