Free Shipping On String Trimmers (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
Welcome | Sign In or Contact Us
Your Cart @ String Trimmers Direct Cart:
< Back to Product

Husqvarna 961 73 00-06 Gas Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$339.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$334.38
(as of 11:17 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
Husqvarna 961 73 00-06 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (5)
Exceeded Expectations (3)
Light Weight (3)
Durable (3)
High Quality (2)
Cons
only 1 power setting (1)
Difficult To Use (1)
Durability (1)
Low Quality (1)
Uses Line quickly in sto... (1)
89% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
19 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Dale, the String Trimmer Expert
String Trimmer Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
35 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
1789 Helpful Votes
String Trimmers Direct Recommended

The Husqvarna HU625HWT is designed to handle large areas of tall grass and thick weeds that would scare off ordinary lawn mowers or hand held string trimmers.

Powered by a hearty Briggs & Stratton engine, this string trimmer on wheels drives a powerful punch to areas of the lawn too large for a hand-held trimmer and too tight for a mower. With a cutting width of 22 inches, large trim jobs get done in less time.

The trim height adjusts easily from 1.6 to 3 inches and replacing the... more
Dale Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
17053
Carmen H
New Braunfels, TX
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/1/17
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
MAY.
23
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Work Horse That Does The Job Quickly
This walk behind trimmer starts on first pull with minimal effort, easily cuts through wild tall grass and weeds with the larger motor size. The larger wheels do come in handy. Cutting on smoother surfaces works well with the large wheels and requires moderate energy. I do not recommend it be used in rocky areas which I tried but will not do again. The wheels continued to lock up with the stones and it took a lot of effort to move the trimmer along with going through 3 sets of trimmer line... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, Features, High Quality
Cons: Requires effort to push, Uses Line quickly in stoney areas
Carmen Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Rick
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 6/14/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Strings Break Easily, Very Disappointing
Good for grass but the moment you hit anything else the lines break. I went through 4 strings in 15 minutes. Directions say to go slow, but how slow is slow? I can do more work with my hand held trimmer faster and half the cost. I guess it would be ok for around the house, but not in a barn yard.
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight
Cons: Low Quality, Durability
Dale, the String Trimmer Expert
Product Expert
Rick,
I am sorry to hear you are disappointed in the performance of the Husqvarna walk behind string trimmer. Unfortunately, with the use of strings, often the capabilities of the unit are restricted to more of your standard homeowner lawns. In thicker brush or weeds, the unit will go through string more often as you have experienced. For barn yard grass and lawn, it is often recommended to look into something such as a brush cutter.

I appreciate the time you took to write this review and apologize for your dissatisfaction. I hope you have a great day.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Rick,
Rick, what else besides grass are you trying to trim with this? Are they a woody stem or just heavy weeds? I'm sorry to hear you are not pleased with the product.
more
Was this review helpful?
50
Arturo M
Safford, AZ
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/18/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
10
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Trimmer
Lots of power, 1st pull start but I wish it had a low power setting also. But so far it works great.
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: only 1 power setting
Arturo Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Charles S
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/18/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Is A Beast
Started with one pull right out of the box, it is a real beast. It cuts grass like it's not there and mows light brush easily as well. Exceeded my expectations
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Use, Light Weight, Fast
Charles Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Jenny K
Oregon House, CA
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Trimmer For Large Area With Rocks
I've never had a trimmer before. With my first one I have a 10 acre property and I need to care for. With many rocks and different types of grades and this trimmer has taken care of all of it. My only complaint is the plastic retainer that's round appears to be made out of plastic and should be stronger for when you hit rocks. What you want to try not to do is cost $50 to replace that part but other than that it starts great and was easy. Down pack didn't have to do much, no assembly at all, so... more
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Jenny Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael B.
Cave Junction, OR
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 6/24/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
AUG.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Trimmer
This is my first Husqvarna trimmer, its a great product, the best I've ever used.

Purchase was quick and smooth, great company to due business with.
Michael Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Robert C.
San Jose, CA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 3/8/17
REVIEWED
MAR.
30
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
O.k. For Very Flat And Smooth Terrain
I would not recommend this trimmer if you have any type of rough terrain or hills. The balance of the unit makes it very hard to keep you from plowing into the ground and the handlebar is very narrow.
Pros: Price
Cons: Difficult To Use
Was this review helpful?
00
Jim H.
Cedaredge, CO
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 7/4/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
AUG.
06
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Husqvarna
It works great - I LOVE IT
Jim Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Jim's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Got it on time"
 more
Was this review helpful?
22
Buck B.
Silver City, NM
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 6/23/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
5 Star Rating Is True
I have just purchased a home with a large lot, and was in the market for a walk behind. I was reading reviews for different brands and this Husqvarna had many 4 1/2 to 5 star reviews. I decided to purchase this model and from the moment I opened the box (READY TO GO) I was in LOVE with it!!! Very easy to use and starts right up. I an VERY PLEASED and I gladly give it a FULL 5 stars!!!!!
Buck Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Buck's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"5 stars all around. So easy to order and it shipped super fast. The quality of the product and service can not be beat."
 more
Was this review helpful?
22
Beata B.
Stuart, FL
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/11/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
it's really great, powerful piece of equipment. BE CAREFUL, I damaged PVC fence post, it literally made a hole in it.
Beata Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Carol L.
Conway, AR
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 3/29/17
REVIEWED
APR.
20
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Weedeater Push Type
It started on the first pull. This operates well and is very easy to push.
Pros: Durable, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Carol Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Chester S.
Liberty Hill, TX
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 6/3/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Trimmer
I have used this trimmer several times and had no problems whatsoever. I have grass in the backyard about three feet high and it glides through it with ease. About every 15 minutes you have to unwrap the grass off the shaft if you go too fast. Other than that I have no complaints. It always starts on the first pull. I would like to see Husqvarna make one that is self propelled though. The unit is light enough to push but after weed whacking for an hour it would help if it pulled itself... more
Chester Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
-10
Robert W.
Allentown, PA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 6/9/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
04
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
None
none
Robert Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Robert's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I am extremely pleased with how easy it is to start, it took a bit of time to learn how to control it, but now after a week of use, I'm almost a Pro. Great product, Great company!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
02
William C.
Rockford, MI
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/24/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Stuf
First of all i am a Husqvarna junkie. i have a husk back pack blower a chain saw and a push string trimmer they are fine tools of the trade love them all thank you.
William Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
02
Capt. Roz Whisnant
Lincolnton, GA
REVIEWED
APR.
14
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Parts Required
I have had one of these that I bought 3 years ago to edge around pond and other tough areas. Granted for the first year it was all one could ask for but then the lower ball bearings wore out needing replacement. Over a period of the three years I had to replace lower ball devices 4 times.

Eventually the motor itself just gave out and I had to replace the motor. Each year I changed oil and kept unit cleaned. Eventually I had to just replace motor. I have several Husky items from chain saw,... more
Capt. Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
172
C. B.
Greensboro, MD
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/29/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husqvarna Walk Behind
This has to be one of the most amazing pieces of optimal yard equipment made.

I would recommend this to anyone that would need a trimmer, but has difficulty carrying one. This equipment outperforms the standard trimmer and doubles as a mower where needed.
C. Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
104
Donald F.
Pahrump, NV
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 3/10/16
REVIEWED
APR.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Powerfull And Starts With 1/2 Pull Everytime
I read all reviews and agree with all the good comments!
Donald Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
72
Glenn M.
Natalia, TX
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 3/4/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Push Wacker
Had my first one stolen. Immediately purchased the 2nd one. Unit is well balanced and easy to use. It's light enough that one person can load it in a truck. It's priced right. Best bang for the buck.
Glenn Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
32
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials