Free Shipping On String Trimmers (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
Welcome | Sign In or Contact Us
Your Cart @ String Trimmers Direct Cart:
< Back to Product

Tanaka TCG22EAP2SL Gas Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$209.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$209.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$250.08
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Tanaka TCG22EAP2SL Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 5
Pros
I'd Buy It Again (13)
Light Weight (10)
Easy To Use (9)
High Quality (6)
Price (6)
Cons
slight vibration (1)
Choke is backward to all... (1)
Heavy (1)
Line feed head (1)
Expensive (1)
97% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
31 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Dale, the String Trimmer Expert
String Trimmer Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
35 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
1783 Helpful Votes
String Trimmers Direct Recommended

The Tanaka TCG22EAP2SL is a time tested professional trimmer that is engineered for the pro contractor looking for the quality and durability of Tanaka's PureFire« low emission 2-stroke engine and the ergonomic features unique to a straight shaft.

Easy starting features such as air purge, makes this tool as reliable as it is durable . Steel torque tube drive shaft and durable gear box that is designed to hold up to more commercial applications.

The Tanaka TCG22EAP2SL string trimmer is... more
Dale Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
3512
Warren H.
Fenton, MI
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 6/3/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Powerful When Compared To Trimmers Twice The Price
Starts very easily, light weight, the head does not tangle excessively, and mows through one inch thistle stalks!
Warren Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Fred T
Mineral Bluff, GA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/28/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
19
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It Keeps On Going
I trim about an 1-1/2 acres. My last trimmer lasted about a year and I had to replace the gears in the head twice. With this machine I have not had any problems, it starts on the second pull most times and like the timed watch, it take a licking and keeps on ticking.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable
Cons: Expensive
Fred Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Dwight P
Richmond, KY
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/21/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
15
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Product
Very good trimmer being lightweight with plenty of power to do the job. Used in a mowing business so we will see how it holds up but very pleased so far
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, Price
Dwight Recommends This Tanaka Product
Dwight's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast shipping. Will do business with again"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Peter S
Stevenson, WA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/2/17
Total Reviews
8 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAY.
15
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Superb
Outstanding string trimmer. Powerful and efficient yet amazingly lightweight and well balanced.

Takes some strain off my 60 year old shoulders.

Nice machine. Best string trimmer I've owned.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, High Quality, Durable
Peter Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Gary Z
Greenbrier, AR
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/2/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
15
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Trimmer For The Price
Overall this trimmer is a great value. Not crazy about the line feed head.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, Easy To Use, Price
Cons: Line feed head
Gary Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael B
Pasadena, TX
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/19/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
10
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Trimmer
High quality and starts easy
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, High Quality, Durable
Cons: Heavy
Michael Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Tim A.
Blountville, TN
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 10/4/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
26
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Very Powerful Weed-whipper !!!!
Very skeptical about the reviews I read on this unit, However, I am impressed with the amount of power this unit produces with tall grass... Excellent!!

It starts easily, light weight and manageable the head doesn't get tangled in tall grass, and it even sounds powerful.

The only disappointment I have is that it holds very little string and changing the string often tends to be a pain. I have to maintain 2 acres of un-mowable grass and this has cut down my weed whipping time by 2/3.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations
Tim Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Dennis S.
Krum, TX
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/3/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good
Bought as backup for aging Husqvarna trimmers so far the performance has been great and has become the primary trimmer do to its light weight.
Dennis Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Roger H.
Kenyon, MN
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/5/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Trimmer!
A coworker told me about these, he has had one for 10 years with no problems. This thing starts right up and runs like a champ and you cant go wrong with a 8 year warranty. The shipping was fast.
Roger Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Dave C.
Meraux, LA
REVIEWED
SEP.
20
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Nice Trimmer, Vibrations At Low And Medium Throttle,
For two hundred bucks so far I can't complain starts and runs good, light compared to my other trimmers,
Only complaint is when not running full throttle it does have vibrations but go away once high speed is reached. Hope this review helps. I'll call company and see if they recommend a fix and post later.
Was this review helpful?
10
Jeff B.
Richmond, KY
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 8/22/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Tanaka Review
Feather light, plenty of power. Great value.
Jeff Recommends This Tanaka Product
Jeff's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Shipped in 2 days. Perfect."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Vern B.
Spring Hill, KS
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 6/18/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Should Of Got It Much Sooner
Only ran 1 tank of fuel through it, loved it already though. Easy to pull & quick to start. Wished I had bought a straight shaft long ago. The only improvement I would like is remote control, so I can sit in my truck with the AC on and Deep Purple playing on the radio.

I don't much like yard work. I own a Tanaka top handle saw, which has survived my son in law's abuse for several years. I hope he abuses this new trimmer in my yard as well. I think u know what I mean.
Pros: Durable, Quiet, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again
Vern Recommends This Tanaka Product
Vern's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"What's not to like? Free shipping and fast shipping. Great selection."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Nicholas P
Nathalie, VA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/9/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
03
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Trimmer
Lightweight and starts on the first pull. This has plenty of power for weeding. If you don't think so then you're trying to accomplish something that's meant for a bush hog.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, Easy To Use, Quiet
Nicholas Recommends This Tanaka Product
Nicholas's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very fast shipping"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Daniel V
Rio Dell, CA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/10/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I'm Very Happy With The Quality And Performance Of The Tanaka
The product arrived on time and quickly. Easy assembly and the performance was fantastic. I will enjoy trimming my lawn this summer with a nice tool to work with.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, High Quality, Price
Daniel Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Denis D.
Jamul, CA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/5/17
REVIEWED
APR.
28
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Light And Powerful
Bought this weed eater for the wife to trim the yard. It is so light I use it on the slopes for defensible space for fire protection. I intended for this trimmer to supplement a commercial grade Stihl and a TMC. I am now using it instead of those heavy duty trimmers. I hope that it will prove to be durable.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, Easy To Use, Price
Cons: Choke is backward to all other trimmers I have used.
Denis Recommends This Tanaka Product
Dale, the String Trimmer Expert
Product Expert
Denis,
I am so glad to hear that you are satisfied with your new trimmer! If you ever have any questions regarding your machine or any other power equipment, please give us a call. We are more than happy to help folks just like you. Thank you again for your business and I hope you have a great day.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
John P
Swansea, MA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/3/17
REVIEWED
APR.
26
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Value For The Money
This trimmer is the easiest to start, it starts on the first pull. However there is a slight vibration in the cutting head, I don't know if its the string that they use, I'll wait until I have to restring the head to see if the vibration goes away.
Pros: Light Weight, Easy To Use, High Quality, Price
Cons: slight vibration
John Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Eric V.
Tyler, TX
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/25/16
REVIEWED
DEC.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Value For The Money.
After using this string trimmer over the summer, I have it to be the best one I personally have every used. Of course, I don't do yards for a living, but having several properties to attend to as well as my own home, this machine started, ran and did its job as required.

The seven year warranty is a big plus and helps put the mind at ease that one has purchased and excellent product.

I have every confidence that this trimmer will be in use for years to come.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Durable, Reliable
Eric Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Vince B.
Phila, PA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 9/19/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine. One Problem
I purchased two machines in the Spring and have sinced used them 3 days per week. GREAT BUY. Noticed the on/ off switch on both have failed and need to be replaced. Otherwise totally satisfied. Even have a new one still in box purchased recently. GOOD VALUE
Vince Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Bradley P.
San Angelo, TX
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 9/3/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Nice Trimmer
The trimmer was very easy to assemble and started on the second pull. It has nice power and is very light. I am very pleased so far.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Features, Light Weight, High Quality
Bradley Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Luis F.
Elmsford, NY
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 8/20/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Good Product For The Price
Powerful trimmer, so far very good.
Luis Recommends This Tanaka Product
Luis's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Only used it a couple of times, but I like it because it's not as heavy as the one I had before, and it's powerful."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Edward H.
Mckeesport, PA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 8/24/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
Took only a few minutes to put together. Works great so far. Used a few times very light and easy to use. Replaced a snapper with no regrets...
Edward Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Paul R.
Webster, FL
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 7/1/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
I will not write a review till I have used the product more than once. The whole process of ordering, receiving and setting up was a breeze. This little machine has so much power it is unbelievable! Lightweight, yet has the capability to compete with the heavyweights out there. Runs and operates just like I need it to.
Paul Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Jeff M.
Harpers Ferry, WV
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/13/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Great Upgrade For Me
I am extremely pleased with my new Tanka String Trimmer. It is a huge improvement over my old unit (which was a mediocre unit purchased at a big-box hardware store and a compromise from the start). There is very little compromise, however, with my new machine. It is easy to start, VERY powerful and does what it is supposed to do with ease.

I live on an approximately 1 acre lot that I would call wooded although not densely so. That does mean, however, that I have lots of trees to trim... more
Jeff Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Dwight T.
Eubank, KY
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/5/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
2nd Time Around
Bought a Tanaka at local store, was to have a 5 year warranty after 2 years it locked up took it back to store to get worked on they said take it to a local repair shop so I did and they said no we don't work on them anymore went back to store .with no luck I toke it apart and fixed it my self, now I just buy on line less problems.
Dwight Recommends This Tanaka Product
Dwight's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great deal, thanks."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Beverley
REVIEWED
MAR.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Monster Machine
Cuts through thick weeds, small limbs and cactus on a couple acres. Guard is a little small so rocks and debris do fly. Wear protective gear. I made a strap to help carry even though it isn't very heavy,...I'm not very strong (I'm a women).

Vibration a little annoying but tolerable. Easy to start, easy to replace line and fuel.

Line "bump" to extend worked well while operating. It takes about 10 feet on line to fill (not in the manual). Also, note the oil gas mixture is... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Beverley Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
70
Bob A.
Myakka City, FL
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 1/16/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Trimmer Ever
6.5 acres of fence posts to trim, lightest most powerful and easiest starting. Buy it!
Bob Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
40
David B.
Fayetteville, GA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/1/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Trimmer
Nice and light, easy to use, starts right up. I wish that the angle of the string head was slightly better for taller customers. The angle of the line coming out of the trimmer head causes the line to dig into the soil. I am over 6 feet tall.
David Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Bob S.
Jenks, OK
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/27/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Solid Weed Trimmer
Extremely happy, starts easily, plenty of power, light, and very easy to handle. There's minimal vibration. Overall, I'm very satisfied.
Bob Recommends This Tanaka Product
Bob's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very easy ordering. I had a question, and they got back with me quickly. Overall, it was a very good experience with String Trimmers Direct."
 more
Was this review helpful?
21
Shawn S.
Islip, NY
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/29/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Worth It.
Great cutter.
Shawn Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Martin F.
Denison, TX
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 3/15/16
REVIEWED
APR.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Impressed Early
My Homelite trimmer lasted 17 years and the starter section failed and not sure how to repair it. I like the Tanaka very well so far. It hardly smokes at all, starts easily, and has enough power to knock down the tall grass.

The only drawback so far is the location of the kill switch. Have accidentally shut it off several times, usually when switching hands.

I like the no-clog design of the power head.
Martin Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
34
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials