Free Shipping On String Trimmers (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
< Back to Product

Tanaka TCG22EAP2SL Gas Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$209.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$209.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$250.08
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Tanaka TCG22EAP2SL Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Pros
I'd Buy It Again (23)
Light Weight (22)
Easy To Use (16)
Price (14)
High Quality (10)
Cons
Bad Instructions (3)
Line feed head (1)
Heavy (1)
Choke is backward to all... (1)
slight vibration (1)
93% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
44 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Dale, the String Trimmer Expert
String Trimmer Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
35 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
1898 Helpful Votes
String Trimmers Direct Recommended

The Tanaka TCG22EAP2SL is a time tested professional trimmer that is engineered for the pro contractor looking for the quality and durability of Tanaka's PureFire« low emission 2-stroke engine and the ergonomic features unique to a straight shaft.

Easy starting features such as air purge, makes this tool as reliable as it is durable . Steel torque tube drive shaft and durable gear box that is designed to hold up to more commercial applications.

The Tanaka TCG22EAP2SL string trimmer is... more
Dale Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
3914
Edward H.
Mckeesport, PA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 8/24/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
SEP.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
Took only a few minutes to put together. Works great so far. Used a few times very light and easy to use. Replaced a snapper with no regrets...
Edward Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Timothy L.
Winthrop Harbor, IL
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JUL.
19
2017
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Avoid
Product arrived in an un damaged box as I was worried about handling during shipping, so this was a plus. Instructions where okay, but was easy to figure out what goes where and required little assembly with included tools.

The control handle cannot be tightened enough to keep it still with out stripping the screws. The air filter cover was loose and appeared to have a broken plastic clip. It fell off during first use only to find that the entire filter/fuel priming bulb/choke was cracked... more
View Image
Pros: Light Weight, Price, Engin runs strong
Cons: Bad Instructions, Low Quality, Durability
Dale, the String Trimmer Expert
Product Expert
Timothy,
Very sorry to hear that you had issues with the trimmer. I would suggest following up Tanaka if you're not satisfied with the repair work done to the.
more
Timothy's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"Buy experience was quick and easy but buyer beware, if you product arrived damaged after opening the box, it is between you and the MFG to get things fixed etc., which could take weeks!"
 more
Dale, the String Trimmer Expert
Product Expert
Timothy,
If your purchased arrived damaged, it would of been best to contact us as soon as possible. As long as the trimmer engine was not gassed/oil, we would of resolved the issue for you.
Was this review helpful?
00
Cory S.
Abernathy, TX
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 6/23/17
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
16 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
17
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Making The Cut
I had been looking for a lightweight professional replacement for the discontinued John Deere trimmer I had loved for years. This trimmer is powerful and lightweight and very similar to that trimmer.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, Price, Durable
Cory Recommends This Tanaka Product
Cory's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I have used several of the direct.com websites for various lawn equipment. I love the comparisons and recommendations."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert T.
Clifton, NJ
REVIEWED
JUL.
17
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best String Trimmer I Have Ever Owned
I've been in the lawn maintenance business for 25 years in North Jersey. After years dealing with Echo, I switched to Red Max. The Red Max was great for 1.5 years, then nothing but trouble. I bought the Tanaka in September of 2015 just to finish the season, and I was going to get something else at a pre-season sale. For 200 bucks, I didn't care.

This machine is so light, its like a baton. Never a problem: just simple spark plug, fuel filter, replace head. Love it. Absolutely great. 60 lawns... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, Easy To Use, Price
Robert Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
00
David S.
Wingate, NC
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 6/14/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
05
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just Like My Hitachi That Was Stolen. Just A Different Color
Great trimmer. Just like it's green cousin I had before
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, Easy To Use, Reliable
David Recommends This Tanaka Product
David's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great trimmer. Just like it's green cousin I had before."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jerry L.
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 6/7/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
30
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Definately Top Of The Line Trimmer.
Great product but the on/off switch is in a bad location. I'm using twice as less fuel than my other wackers. Starts very easy and not once have I got tangled in tall weeds.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, High Quality, Quiet
Jerry Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Tim A.
Blountville, TN
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 10/4/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
26
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Very Powerful Weed-whipper !!!!
Very skeptical about the reviews I read on this unit, However, I am impressed with the amount of power this unit produces with tall grass... Excellent!!

It starts easily, light weight and manageable the head doesn't get tangled in tall grass, and it even sounds powerful.

The only disappointment I have is that it holds very little string and changing the string often tends to be a pain. I have to maintain 2 acres of un-mowable grass and this has cut down my weed whipping time by 2/3.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations
Tim Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Dave C.
Meraux, LA
REVIEWED
SEP.
20
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Nice Trimmer, Vibrations At Low And Medium Throttle,
For two hundred bucks so far I can't complain starts and runs good, light compared to my other trimmers,
Only complaint is when not running full throttle it does have vibrations but go away once high speed is reached. Hope this review helps. I'll call company and see if they recommend a fix and post later.
Was this review helpful?
10
Jeff B.
Richmond, KY
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 8/22/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Tanaka Review
Feather light, plenty of power. Great value.
Jeff Recommends This Tanaka Product
Jeff's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Shipped in 2 days. Perfect."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Susan S.
Coos Bay, OR
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 6/5/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Tanaka
This is a great deal.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Price
Susan Recommends This Tanaka Product
Susan's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very fast delivery"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
William R.
Roosevelt, NY
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/31/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
22
2017
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Tanaka Professional 2-cycle Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Average product, need time to adjust to using. Received inoperable, sent back to manufacturer for repair..
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Bad Instructions, Packaging
Was this review helpful?
00
Gilbert M.
Shingle Springs, CA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/28/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
21
2017
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Grass Eater/not Weed Eater
I think it would be a great performer on grass. It cut the weeds, However,it is not for heavy duty work. Got very hot and would not restart if shut off to replace string or take a 5 to 10 minute break. Would restart after approximately an hour cool down time. I think I worked it beyond its 21cc capabilities. My 24cc SHINDAIWA does not have this problem. The TANAKA worked great up to a point. We have WEEDS and Star Thistle,etc..
Pros: Light Weight, Easy To Use, Price
Cons: Unreliable
Gilbert Recommends This Tanaka Product
Gilbert's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I have purchased from PED before and it's always been a positive experience. The products I have purchased based on their review/rating have met all my expectations. Except for this last one that I exceed the product capability."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Serdar O.
Babylon, NY
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/29/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
20
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
My First Tanaka
So far so good.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, Easy To Use, Price
Cons: Bad Instructions
Serdar Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Lisa C.
Weaverville, NC
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/28/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
20
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Trimmer
Great trimmer. Easy to start and is very light weight but, does the job of a much bigger and heavy trimmer.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations
Lisa Recommends This Tanaka Product
Lisa's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast and free shipping. Great price."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jon M.
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/25/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
17
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Bang For The Buck
I bought this based on a recommendation from a friend who owns a tree removal business. I'm verfy happy with it.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations
Jon Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Lindsey S.
Shippensburg, PA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/24/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
15
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Time Buyer - Not First Time User
For the money it's a great buy. Have used about 10 hours and had no problems. It is light so head control is an issue if you are not paying attention. Gas usage is on par for the yard style type trimming I do. Have not had to re-load the head yet seems easy on trimmer cord.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, High Quality, Price
Lindsey Recommends This Tanaka Product
Lindsey's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Got product in factory pack quickly with only slight box damage."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert P.
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/10/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
14
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Favorite
This string trimmer is my favorite trimmer. Just as powerful as any other on the market light weight and very economical. I bought two for my small lawn business 25 accounts. One was for my front line and the other i keeped for a backup but never needed to put in service.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, Easy To Use, High Quality, Price, Durable, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable
Cons: None
Robert Recommends This Tanaka Product
Robert's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great had no problems getting the products on line."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Fred T
Mineral Bluff, GA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/28/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
19
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It Keeps On Going
I trim about an 1-1/2 acres. My last trimmer lasted about a year and I had to replace the gears in the head twice. With this machine I have not had any problems, it starts on the second pull most times and like the timed watch, it take a licking and keeps on ticking.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable
Cons: Expensive
Fred Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Dwight P
Richmond, KY
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/21/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
15
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Product
Very good trimmer being lightweight with plenty of power to do the job. Used in a mowing business so we will see how it holds up but very pleased so far
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, Price
Dwight Recommends This Tanaka Product
Dwight's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast shipping. Will do business with again"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Peter S
Stevenson, WA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/2/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
15
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Superb
Outstanding string trimmer. Powerful and efficient yet amazingly lightweight and well balanced.

Takes some strain off my 60 year old shoulders.

Nice machine. Best string trimmer I've owned.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, High Quality, Durable
Peter Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Gary Z
Greenbrier, AR
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/2/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
15
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Trimmer For The Price
Overall this trimmer is a great value. Not crazy about the line feed head.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, Easy To Use, Price
Cons: Line feed head
Gary Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael B
Pasadena, TX
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/19/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
10
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Trimmer
High quality and starts easy
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, High Quality, Durable
Cons: Heavy
Michael Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Nicholas P
Nathalie, VA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/9/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
03
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Trimmer
Lightweight and starts on the first pull. This has plenty of power for weeding. If you don't think so then you're trying to accomplish something that's meant for a bush hog.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, Easy To Use, Quiet
Nicholas Recommends This Tanaka Product
Nicholas's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very fast shipping"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Daniel V
Rio Dell, CA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/10/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I'm Very Happy With The Quality And Performance Of The Tanaka
The product arrived on time and quickly. Easy assembly and the performance was fantastic. I will enjoy trimming my lawn this summer with a nice tool to work with.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, High Quality, Price
Daniel Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Denis D.
Jamul, CA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/5/17
REVIEWED
APR.
28
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Light And Powerful
Bought this weed eater for the wife to trim the yard. It is so light I use it on the slopes for defensible space for fire protection. I intended for this trimmer to supplement a commercial grade Stihl and a TMC. I am now using it instead of those heavy duty trimmers. I hope that it will prove to be durable.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, Easy To Use, Price
Cons: Choke is backward to all other trimmers I have used.
Denis Recommends This Tanaka Product
Dale, the String Trimmer Expert
Product Expert
Denis,
I am so glad to hear that you are satisfied with your new trimmer! If you ever have any questions regarding your machine or any other power equipment, please give us a call. We are more than happy to help folks just like you. Thank you again for your business and I hope you have a great day.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
John P
Swansea, MA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/3/17
REVIEWED
APR.
26
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Value For The Money
This trimmer is the easiest to start, it starts on the first pull. However there is a slight vibration in the cutting head, I don't know if its the string that they use, I'll wait until I have to restring the head to see if the vibration goes away.
Pros: Light Weight, Easy To Use, High Quality, Price
Cons: slight vibration
John Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Eric V.
Tyler, TX
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/25/16
REVIEWED
DEC.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Value For The Money.
After using this string trimmer over the summer, I have it to be the best one I personally have every used. Of course, I don't do yards for a living, but having several properties to attend to as well as my own home, this machine started, ran and did its job as required.

The seven year warranty is a big plus and helps put the mind at ease that one has purchased and excellent product.

I have every confidence that this trimmer will be in use for years to come.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Durable, Reliable
Eric Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Vince B.
Phila, PA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 9/19/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine. One Problem
I purchased two machines in the Spring and have sinced used them 3 days per week. GREAT BUY. Noticed the on/ off switch on both have failed and need to be replaced. Otherwise totally satisfied. Even have a new one still in box purchased recently. GOOD VALUE
Vince Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Bradley P.
San Angelo, TX
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 9/3/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Nice Trimmer
The trimmer was very easy to assemble and started on the second pull. It has nice power and is very light. I am very pleased so far.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Features, Light Weight, High Quality
Bradley Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Luis F.
Elmsford, NY
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 8/20/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Good Product For The Price
Powerful trimmer, so far very good.
Luis Recommends This Tanaka Product
Luis's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Only used it a couple of times, but I like it because it's not as heavy as the one I had before, and it's powerful."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Paul R.
Webster, FL
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 7/1/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
I will not write a review till I have used the product more than once. The whole process of ordering, receiving and setting up was a breeze. This little machine has so much power it is unbelievable! Lightweight, yet has the capability to compete with the heavyweights out there. Runs and operates just like I need it to.
Paul Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Beverley
REVIEWED
MAR.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Monster Machine
Cuts through thick weeds, small limbs and cactus on a couple acres. Guard is a little small so rocks and debris do fly. Wear protective gear. I made a strap to help carry even though it isn't very heavy,...I'm not very strong (I'm a women).

Vibration a little annoying but tolerable. Easy to start, easy to replace line and fuel.

Line "bump" to extend worked well while operating. It takes about 10 feet on line to fill (not in the manual). Also, note the oil gas mixture is... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Beverley Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
70
Warren H.
Fenton, MI
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 6/3/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Powerful When Compared To Trimmers Twice The Price
Starts very easily, light weight, the head does not tangle excessively, and mows through one inch thistle stalks!
Warren Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Bob A.
Myakka City, FL
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 1/16/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Trimmer Ever
6.5 acres of fence posts to trim, lightest most powerful and easiest starting. Buy it!
Bob Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Dennis S.
Krum, TX
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/3/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good
Bought as backup for aging Husqvarna trimmers so far the performance has been great and has become the primary trimmer do to its light weight.
Dennis Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Roger H.
Kenyon, MN
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/5/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Trimmer!
A coworker told me about these, he has had one for 10 years with no problems. This thing starts right up and runs like a champ and you cant go wrong with a 8 year warranty. The shipping was fast.
Roger Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Vern B.
Spring Hill, KS
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 6/18/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Should Of Got It Much Sooner
Only ran 1 tank of fuel through it, loved it already though. Easy to pull & quick to start. Wished I had bought a straight shaft long ago. The only improvement I would like is remote control, so I can sit in my truck with the AC on and Deep Purple playing on the radio.

I don't much like yard work. I own a Tanaka top handle saw, which has survived my son in law's abuse for several years. I hope he abuses this new trimmer in my yard as well. I think u know what I mean.
Pros: Durable, Quiet, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again
Vern Recommends This Tanaka Product
Vern's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"What's not to like? Free shipping and fast shipping. Great selection."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
David B.
Fayetteville, GA
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/1/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Trimmer
Nice and light, easy to use, starts right up. I wish that the angle of the string head was slightly better for taller customers. The angle of the line coming out of the trimmer head causes the line to dig into the soil. I am over 6 feet tall.
David Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Bob S.
Jenks, OK
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/27/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Solid Weed Trimmer
Extremely happy, starts easily, plenty of power, light, and very easy to handle. There's minimal vibration. Overall, I'm very satisfied.
Bob Recommends This Tanaka Product
Bob's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very easy ordering. I had a question, and they got back with me quickly. Overall, it was a very good experience with String Trimmers Direct."
 more
Was this review helpful?
21
Jeff M.
Harpers Ferry, WV
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/13/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Great Upgrade For Me
I am extremely pleased with my new Tanka String Trimmer. It is a huge improvement over my old unit (which was a mediocre unit purchased at a big-box hardware store and a compromise from the start). There is very little compromise, however, with my new machine. It is easy to start, VERY powerful and does what it is supposed to do with ease.

I live on an approximately 1 acre lot that I would call wooded although not densely so. That does mean, however, that I have lots of trees to trim... more
Jeff Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Dwight T.
Eubank, KY
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 5/5/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
2nd Time Around
Bought a Tanaka at local store, was to have a 5 year warranty after 2 years it locked up took it back to store to get worked on they said take it to a local repair shop so I did and they said no we don't work on them anymore went back to store .with no luck I toke it apart and fixed it my self, now I just buy on line less problems.
Dwight Recommends This Tanaka Product
Dwight's Experience With String Trimmers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great deal, thanks."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Shawn S.
Islip, NY
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 4/29/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Worth It.
Great cutter.
Shawn Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Martin F.
Denison, TX
Purchased from String Trimmers Direct
Purchased 3/15/16
REVIEWED
APR.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Impressed Early
My Homelite trimmer lasted 17 years and the starter section failed and not sure how to repair it. I like the Tanaka very well so far. It hardly smokes at all, starts easily, and has enough power to knock down the tall grass.

The only drawback so far is the location of the kill switch. Have accidentally shut it off several times, usually when switching hands.

I like the no-clog design of the power head.
Martin Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
34
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials